Skip to main content



Rainer Weiss, Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne Win the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics

Latest Posts

Update on the Start of LIGO's 3rd Observing Run

Kip S. Thorne Wins the 2018 Lewis Thomas Prize

Watch a Public Lecture at NASEM by LIGO's David Reitze

LIGO Observatories to be Designated as APS Historic Sites

OSA Awards the C.E.K. Mees Medal to LIGO's Stanley Whitcomb

Watch "GW170817: So Many Staggering Insights About Our Universe"

Data from Advanced LIGO's 1st Observing Run Released

Watch "Black Hole Apocalypse" by NOVA

Rainer Weiss Receives The Weber Award

A Donation by the Family of LIGO Co-founder Ron Drever Establishes a Scholarship in his Name

LIGO's Observation of Colliding Neutron Stars Is Science Magazine's 2017 Breakthrough of the Year